If convicted of dui Massachusetts, second offenders(anyone with a previous OUI conviction or previous assignment to the 24D program or substantially similar program) face the second offender disposition which includes:
- probation for 2 years for dui Massachusetts;
- 2 year loss of license with a hardship license available after 1 year for employment/education purposes, and 18 month for a general hardship license. (Note: A condition of a hardship license is that the operator have an ignition interlock device on his/her vehicle. The device requires the operator to blow into it prior to and during operation, and prevents the car from operating if the operator has a blood alcohol level of .02 or greater. The interlock device must be imposed for the duration of the hardhip period and an additional two years thereafter.);
- 14 day in-patient residential alcohol program with a fee of approximately $1,050;
- $65 supervised probation fee for dui Massachusetts;
- $250 OUI assessment with a $50 victim of OUI fee, and $50 victim witness fee.
A Mass dui lawyer will help you beat these charges. If convicted of dui Massachusetts and not sentenced to the second offender disposition, the potential penalty includes:
- imprisonment for a mandatory minimum of 30 days and not more than 2.5 years for dui Massachusetts;
- fine of not less than $600 nor more than $10,000; and
- 2 year loss of license with the hardship license available after 1 year and 18 months.
With a second offense breathalyzer failure for dui Massachusetts, the license loss remains 30 days at the outset, unless you are between the ages of 18-20, where the 30 days has an additional 180 day component. If you refuse the breathalyzer test on a second offense, you will lose your license for 3 years, and if you are under 21 you will lose your license for 3 years plus the YAP suspension for dui Massachusetts. An experienced Massachusetts drunk driving attorney will help you beat your charges.
Please note that if you hold a commercial driver’s license and you refuse the breathalyzer test on a second offense, you will lose your commercial license for life. Also, if you are convicted of a second offense dui Massachusetts, you will lose your commercial license for life.
Call the office of Shane W. Surrette, an experienced Massachusetts drunk driving attorney, at 508.799.9309. http://www.swslawoffice.com