Legislation has been signed removing mandatory license suspension for most drug offenses in Massachusetts. The law:
- Eliminates license suspension for most drug offenses;
- Removes the mandatory license reinstatement fee;
- Maintains a license suspension period for those convicted of trafficking in certain substances.
As a result, if you are charged with a drug offense, it is important to know that your license may no longer become a collateral consequence. Reach out to a drug attorney today who can help you. Contact Attorney Shane W. Surrette at (774) 364-4605 or at [email protected]
If you refuse the breathalyzer test after an arrest for drunk driving, your license will be suspended. The length of the license suspension depends on the number of prior offenses. For instance, after a breathalyzer test refusal, you will lose your license for:
- 180 days on a first offense;
- 3 years on a second offense;
- 5 years on a third offense; &
- Lifetime on a fourth offense.
It is important to note that the above-mentioined suspension periods are in addition to any suspension after a conviction or admission on the underlying charge. As a result, if you find yourself facing a license suspension because of a breath test refusal, contact a drunk driving lawyer who can assist you. Contact Attorney Shane W. Surrette at (774) 364-4605 or at [email protected] today.
Drug charges go beyond possession, distribution and trafficking in controlled substances. Often the Commonwealth will bring conspiracy charges. In order to prove conspiracy to violate the controlled substances act, the Commonwealth must prove:
- An agreement or plan with one or more persons;
- The purpose of the agreement or plan to do something unlawful; &
- Joining in on the conspiracy knowing of the unlawful plan with the intention to help carry it out.
If you find yourself facing a conpsiracy allegation, it is important to note that the penalty is the same as the underlying offense that is the object of the conspiracy. Reach out to a drug attorney who can help you. Contact Attorney Shane W. Surrette at (774) 364-4605 or at [email protected] today.
If you are in custody and face interrogation by the police, you must be provided Miranda warnings. A failure to provide Miranda warnings in these circumstances willl result in suppression of any statements made after the violation. Additionally, any invocation of the right to remain silent must be scrupulously honored by the police. The assertion of the right to remain silent must be:
- unambiguous; &
If you find yourself in a position where you have made incriminating statements to police, it is important to contact criminal law attorneys who can help you. Contact Attorney Shane W. Surrette at (774) 364-4605 or at [email protected] today.
If you are arrested for suspicion of drunk driving in Massachusetts, you will likely be afforded the opportunity to submit to a breath test. If you elect to take a breath test, the Commonwealth may proceed solely on a per se theory. This means that the Commonwealth only needs to prove:
- Operation of a Motor Vehicle;
- On a Public Way;
- With a Blood Alcohol Content of .08 or Above at the Time of Operation.
This means that if operation and public way have been established, a breathalyzer test ticket result of .08 or above will allow for a prima facie case of violation of the per se component of the statute. With the stakes so high, contact an attorney who has prosecuted and defended drunk driving cases. Contact Drunk Driving Attorney Shane W. Surrette at (774) 364-4605 or at [email protected] today.
DUI charges may be brought in Massachusetts if a police officer has probable cause. Probable cause is not an exacting standard. It simply requires:
- Facts and Circumstances;
- Within the Knowledge of the Arresting Police Officer;
- Which Would Warrant a Person of Reasonable Caution to Believe a Crime was Committed.
With such a standard for arrest, it is important to seek DUI Attorneys who will work to get you the results you need. Contact Attorney Shane W. Surrette at (774) 364-4605 or at [email protected] today.
If you are charged with a criminal offense in Massachusetts, the penalties reach far beyond the courtroom. For instance, for certain convictions there may be:
- The Requirement of Providing a DNA sample;
- Driver’s License Loss;
- Loss of Housing.
As a result, if you are charged with a criminal offense in Massachusetts, it is important to have an experienced criminal defense lawyer working for you. Contact Attorney Shane W. Surrette at (774) 364-4605 or at [email protected] today.